Advertise With the CMSB!

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Team Auburn wins Inaugural L/A Cup

MisMash 057

As the two teams representing Lewiston and Auburn took to the ice to decide the two night tourney, Auburn entered the game with a two goal lead at 11-9. Where the previous evening was more or less a shooting gallery, this evening's contest before 450 at the Androscoggin Bank Colisee had a much more of a defensively responsible feel to it.

Team Auburn won the game 5-4 in regulation time, with goals by Christophe Lalonde, Alex Zafiris, Matthew Bissonette, Francis Beauvillier and Cameron Critchlow. Team Lewiston kept it tight with tallies by Cole MacDonald, Sam Henley, JP Harvey and Jess Tanguy. Going into the shootout, Auburn held a 16-13 two game total goal advantage.

On to the shootout where both teams sent out players that did not have a try the night previous. This is where it got interesting.

Team Auburn appeared to have sealed the deal by and early goal by Antoine Houde-Caron, but Team Lewiston roared back scoring four unanswered goals by Henley. MacDonald, Etienne Brodeur and Stefan Fournier.

The score was at 17-17 when the final two shooters took to the ice. Lalonde would answer by putting Team Auburn on top, and Team Lewiston's Jess Tanguy had no answer as Team Auburn went on to win the inaugural LA Cup!

A special thank you to Honorary Captains Louis Nadeau (Lewiston) and Gerry Berube (Auburn)! The Lewiston MAINEiacs appreciate your loyalty to the team, and for all of your years of service in the community!



Post a Comment

CMSB Search