Advertise With the CMSB!

Sunday, April 10, 2011

Falcons soar over Pirates; Award winners announced

Luke Adam shoots during loss to Springfield (Photo Jason Gendron)

Nikita Filatov scored three minutes into overtime to lift the Springfield falcons to a 2-1 win over the Portland Pirates in an American Hockey League game played this afternoon in front of 7,051 at the Cumberland County Civic Center.

Tomas Kubalik netted the other goal for the Falcons, who finished the regular season with a 35-40-2-3 record.

Jacob Lagace registered the lone goal for the Pirates. Portland completed the 2010-11 regular season with a record of 47-24-7-2 and with the point assured themselves the most points in the AHL.

The two teams were scoreless through the first period. Lagace gave the Pirates a 1-0 lead early in the second period and that goal stood as the lone goal of the game as the two teams headed into the third. Kubalik tied the game five minutes into the third setting the stage for Filatov’s game winner.

The Falcons out shot the Pirates 27-18 in the game as David Leggio took the loss.

The Allied Home Mortgage Three Stars of the Game were 1. Filatov, 2. Lagace and 3. Leggio.

In other Pirates news, the team announced their annual team award winners in a ceremony following today’s game against the Springfield Falcons at the Cumberland County Civic Center.

Marc-Andre Gragnani was chosen as a double winner selected by the fans as the Most Popular Player as well as the Unsung Hero. The veteran defenseman, currently on recall with the Buffalo Sabres, is second in team scoring with 12 goals and 48 assists for 60 points in 63 games. His assist and point totals are new Pirates records for a defenseman. Gragnani’s season also included capturing the Eddie Shore Award as the AHL’s outstanding defenseman as well as being named a First Team All-Star.

For the second straight season Mark Mancari was selected as the Pirates Most Valuable Player, presented by Maine Medical Center. The 25 year-old London, Ontario native, who is also on recall with the Sabres, scored 32 goals and 32 assists for 64 points in 56 games with the Pirates during the 2010-11 season. At the time of his recall Mancari, a First Team AHL All-Star, was the leading goal scorer in the AHL and among the league leaders in points.

Luke Adam won the Jack Button Memorial Award, presented annually to honor Buffalo’s top prospect. The Award is named in honor of the late Jack Button, who was a member of the Washington Capitals Hockey Department from 1979 until his death in 1996. Adam, the AHL’s Rookie-of-the-Year and a member of the AHL’s All-Rookie Team, finished his freshman campaign with 29 goals and 33 assists for 62 points in 56 games to rank second in AHL scoring.

Derek Whitmore was selected for the Tom Ebright Award, presented to the player who best exemplifies what it means to be a member of the Portland Pirates, as envisioned by team founder, the late Tom Ebright. Whitmore was also recognized for being selected as the Pirates IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year Award winner for a third straight season.

Mark Parrish was chosen by his teammates as the Player’s Player Award winner. Parrish was identified by his peers as a player they felt represents the team’s character and values while Paul Bryon was named the Sparkplug of the Year, presented by Mister Sparky, and the Allied Home Mortgage Three Star Award winner.

Each season, the Pirates honor a special partner who has shown exemplary partnership and support during the year. This season, the Pirates honored C5 Sports as their 2011 Partner of the Year.


Post a Comment

CMSB Search